Friday, 8 November 2013

Evra retains France spot despite Lizarazu outburst

Evra retains France spot despite Lizarazu outburst

Evra retains France spot despite Lizarazu outburst

Bleus boss Didier Deschamps was inundated with questions about the selection of the controversial Manchester United full-back

Patrice Evra has, as expected, been included in the France squad for this month's World Cup play-off against Ukraine, in spite of his recent war of words with Bixente Lizarazu.

The Manchester United defender was summoned to appear before the French Football Federation (FFF) after insinuating the former Bleus star was a "parasite", after the World Cup winner spoke critically of the 32-year-old left-back.

However, the FFF ruled that Evra would face no disciplinary action over his outburst and he has therefore been named in the 24-strong panel for the two-legged tie with Ukraine.

Evra's inclusion, though, was the main talking point during Thursday's squad announcement, much to the annoyance of coach Didier Deschamps, who briefly halted the press conference after being repeatedly pressed on the issue.

Elsewhere, Rio Mavuba has returned to the France fold, while star men Franck Ribery, Karim Benzema and Olivier Giroud have all been called upon.

Les Bleus travel to Ukraine for the first leg on November 15 before hosting Mykhaylo Fomenko's men in Paris four days later.

France squad:

Goalkeepers: Mickael Landreau (Bastia), Hugo Lloris (Tottenham), Steve Mandanda (Olympique de Marseille).

Defenders: Eric Abidal (Monaco), Gael Clichy (Manchester City), Mathieu Debuchy (Newcastle United), Patrice Evra (Manchester United), Laurent Koscielny (Arsenal), Bacary Sagna (Arsenal), Mamadou Sakho (Liverpool), Raphael Varane (Real Madrid).

Midfielders: Yohan Cabaye (Newcastle United), Clement Grenier (Olympique Lyonnais), Blaise Matuidi (Paris Saint-Germain), Rio Mavuba (Lille), Samir Nasri (Manchester City), Paul Pogba (Juventus), Moussa Sissoko (Newcastle United).

Forwards: Karim Benzema (Real Madrid), Olivier Giroud (Arsenal), Dimitri Payet (Olympique de Marseille), Loic Remy (Newcastle United), Franck Ribery (Bayern Munich), Mathieu Valbuena (Olympique de Marseille). ------------------

No comments:

Post a Comment